601.3b: No cards seem to use this example. My best guess is that this rule is there in order to mirror activated abilities. There are plenty of examples with activated abilities, e.g.
Diaochan, Artful Beauty or
Arena.
603.2e: You control
Library of Leng. An effect controlled by an opponent makes you discard
Guerrilla Tactics and you choose to put it on top of your library.
Guerrilla Tactics does not trigger.
708.6c. You activate
Sunforger.
Research // Development is a legal card to find for it (and you can cast either half). The question it asks is “are you a white or red instant with converted mana cost less than 4?” This looks for three characteristics: 1) type (instant), 2) converted mana cost (less than 4), 3) color (red or white). You determine the answer for each independently, and all have to come back positive for the overall answer to be yes. For each of 1), 2), 3), it's sufficient that one half be good for the answer to 1), 2), 3) respectively be yes (by 708.6a). In this case: 1) instant and instant, so yes; 2) 2 and 5, so yes; 3) blue-green and blue-red, so yes. Overall, it's yes, even though only Development satisfies 2 and only Research satisfies 3.
Daniel Kitachewsky
L3, Paris, France
Rules NetRep