Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Article Discussion » Post: You Are What You Present: When you are a judge, and what that means.

You Are What You Present: When you are a judge, and what that means.

Dec. 17, 2016 12:47:43 AM

Ethan Greenberger
Judge (Level 2 (Judge Academy))

USA - Great Lakes

You Are What You Present: When you are a judge, and what that means.

You are what you present: Being a Judge vs just judging magic.
Along my journey to becoming a judge I learned a great many things. I learned about the stack, and the steps and phases and the interesting and often confusing set of rules that make up the game of Magic. I studied, took tests, and talked with other judges who quizzed me and helped me to become more knowledgeable. In short they helped me to learn how to judge a magic event and apply the skills necessary to run a tournament as a part of a team; and that is fine. Those are the basic skills require to become a judge. That’s said, there is also more. There is a large difference from being a Magic judge, and simply judging a magic event.
First, let’s talk about when we are Judges. The obvious instances are when we are actively judging events, but there are other instances as well. If you answer a random judge call at a store you’ve never been to before, you are a judge in that moment. If you are a member of an online public community and you regularly answer questions as a judge and people within that community know you mostly as a judge, then in that community you are a representative of the judge community. Here your actions reflect upon us all.

To illustrate better what I am talking about let me tell a story.