Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Knowledge Pool Scenarios » Post: A Confusing Copying Conundrum - BRONZE

A Confusing Copying Conundrum - BRONZE

June 26, 2019 10:36:59 AM [Original Post]

Joe Klopchic
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3)

Seattle, Washington, United States of America

A Confusing Copying Conundrum - BRONZE

Welcome back to the Knowledge Pool! This week we have a Bronze scenario. Everyone should submit their answers to the link below.

Alex is playing against Nicky in your local MCQ. Alex casts Chemister's Insight from their graveyard, and Nicky responds by casting the Expansion half of Expansion // Explosion. Alex Attempts to Cancel the Expansion, but Nicky has a counterspell of his own, responding with Negate. The players resolve everything, but Alex puts the Chemister's Insight into their graveyard. In the confusion, Nicky correctly draws their cards from their copy of Chemister's Insight, but Alex forgets to. Nicky starts their turn, plays a land, then casts Niv-Mizzet, Parun. They then realize that Alex should have 2 more cards in hand and the Chemister's Insight should have been exiled, and call for a judge.

What do you do?

Submit your answers here: https://goo.gl/forms/5dVvoeFkQHPQvES63

Edited Joe Klopchic (June 26, 2019 11:33:49 AM)

July 9, 2019 04:23:07 PM [Marked as Accepted Answer]

Joe Klopchic
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3)

Seattle, Washington, United States of America

A Confusing Copying Conundrum - BRONZE

Thanks for all the submissions this week!

We're highlighting an answer by Elizabeth Wallace, an L2 from Australia.

Originally posted by Elizabeth Wallace:

Alex has failed to correctly resolve Chemister's Insight leading to not having drawn 2 cards and Chemister's Insight in the wrong zone.
This is Game Rules Violation Warning for Alex and a Failure to Maintain Game State Warning for Nicky.
We apply 2 separate partial fixes
Alex failed to draw cards so she draws 2 cards
Alex moved Chemister's Insight from the stack to the graveyard instead of exile so we move it to exile. This is okay as it doesn't cause major disruption.

Elizabeth did a great job describing all the infractions, and the partial fixes required to remedy the situation.