+1: Reveal the top card of your library. If it's a land card, put it onto the battlefield. Otherwise, put it into your hand.
Edited Luís Guimarãis (Sept. 14, 2015 08:16:06 AM)
Edited William Tiddi (Sept. 14, 2015 07:23:23 AM)
Originally posted by William Tiddi:
-I would have ruled and applied DEC. The player incorrectly added a card to his hand, but it's due to incorrectly resolving an effect (so do not use the “thoughtseize” fix).
IPG 2.3
If the cards were drawn as part of the legal resolution of an illegally played instruction, due to a Communication Policy Violation, or were as the result of resolving objects on the stack or multiple-instruction effects in an incorrect order, a backup may be considered and no further action is taken.
IPG 2.3
A player illegally puts one or more cards into his or her hand…
IPG 2.5
If an opponent had no opportunity to verify the legality of the action, the penalty is a Game Loss. These errors involve misplaying hidden information, such as failing to reveal a card to prove that a choice made was a legal one.
Originally posted by William Tiddi:William, this is a textbook situation. You say it yourself:
I keep feeling the DEC is more appropriate (since giving GRV and especially GL doesn't seem consistent nor balanced with how we deal with cards put in hand for other reasons)
Originally posted by William Tiddi:- this is exactly what makes it a GRV and not DEC. Having extra cards in your hand does not always mean it's a situation where DEC occurred, and this is exactly one of the cases where that happens.
The player incorrectly added a card to his hand, but it's due to incorrectly resolving an effect
Originally posted by Marc Shotter:
We don't know that the card was illegally drawn (in fact I suspect looking at the hand would reveal no lands meaning the draw was in fact legal)
Pedro Gonçalves
Having extra cards in your hand does not always mean it's a situation where DEC occurred, and this is exactly one of the cases where that happens
Edited William Tiddi (Sept. 14, 2015 08:50:49 AM)
Edited Pedro Gonçalves (Sept. 14, 2015 09:03:51 AM)
Originally posted by William Tiddi:
Originally posted by Marc Shotter:
We don't know that the card was illegally drawn (in fact I suspect looking at the hand would reveal no lands meaning the draw was in fact legal)
The fact that he added it to his hand without revealing (and so, without being instructed to do so) make it illegally drawn.
Edited Juergen Wierz (Sept. 14, 2015 10:53:23 AM)
Replies have been disabled because this topic is closed.