Casting a spell with extra mana in Mana pool without announcing it is
violation of Comprehensive Rules:
CR 106.4a: If a player passes priority (see rule 116) while there is
mana in his or her mana pool, that
player announces what mana is there. If any mana remains in a player’s mana
pool after he or
she spends mana to pay a cost, that player announces what mana is still
there.
General violation of Comprehensive Rules is GRV:
IPG 2.5: This infraction covers the majority of game situations in
which a player makes an error or fails to follow a game
procedure correctly. It handles violations of the Comprehensive Rules that
are not covered by the other Game Play
Errors.
Therefore I would intervene in both cases mentioned above and issue GRV
Warning to Player A.
I would also investigate player B and provided that he knew about this rule
and purposely ignored it in order to gain advantage, he should be
disqualified. Otherwise he should receive FtMGS warning.
Provided that the game has not ended (because of disqualification) I would
also backup to the point of error and I would allow Player A to untap lands
which produced the unused mana.
2014-05-18 19:15 GMT+02:00 Lyle Waldman <