Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Competitive REL » Post: Question regarding head judge and local game store responsibilities

Question regarding head judge and local game store responsibilities

Oct. 24, 2016 08:27:48 AM

Michael Bauman
Judge (Level 2 (Judge Academy))

USA - Northeast

I am an employee and manager of my local game store. In a few weeks we will be running another pptq. During our last PPG Q my employer asked if I could work while also acting as the head judge since we had a level 1 judge also on staff for the event. That event ran smoothly as there were not any calls in which a appeal was made. I was able to get off of the sales floor by the time the final round was ending. I wanted to get some of the other judges feedback about the situation. For reference the store that I work in has a separate room for it sells for and it's giving space but they are directly connected with no doors in between.

Oct. 24, 2016 09:26:09 AM

Robert Langmaid
Judge (Level 2 (Judge Foundry)), Scorekeeper, Tournament Organizer

Canada - Eastern Provinces

I think that is within reason if you have an experienced L1 to run the floor while you handle appeals and any problems that arise. It is probably a good way to let an L1 get experience. Especially in this new world of PPTQ's which TO normally only paying for one judge making it hard for L1 to get many oppertunities at comp rel

Oct. 24, 2016 09:41:13 AM

Gareth Pye

Ringwood, Australia

I agree with Robert mostly, but being in a different building for most
of the event sounds a little more hands off than is reasonable.

Oct. 24, 2016 04:02:05 PM

Bartłomiej Wieszok
Judge (Level 2 (International Judge Program)), TLC, Tournament Organizer

Europe - Central

Gareth - I don't think we are talking there about different building just next room.

Oct. 24, 2016 04:52:00 PM

Gareth Pye

Ringwood, Australia

Whoops, I took ‘no doors’ to mean you have to go out to the street to