Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Competitive REL » Post: My first Head Judge

My first Head Judge

Oct. 26, 2016 01:07:01 AM

Lyle Waldman
Judge (Uncertified)

Canada - Eastern Provinces

My first Head Judge

I have just been hired by my LGS to be the HJ of a PPTQ. It's my first time HJing an event with other FJs on staff (I've HJd events as a solo judge before, but not with a team, and I have never team led). What are some things I should be aware of, know, do, not do, and so on?

The event is Nov. 13, so I'll keep checking back periodically for feedback until then. Thanks!

Oct. 26, 2016 01:50:57 AM

Anniek Van der Peijl
Judge (Level 3 (Judge Academy))

BeNeLux

My first Head Judge

There are many many many articles (both from judges about judging, and from non-magic contexts) on both management and leadership. I'm linking to some below. But for me the most important thing to remember is that as the HJ, I should know as much as possible and do as little as possible.
Of course that doesn't mean you should sit at your HJ desk all day and do literally nothing, but exhaust your delegation options before doing stuff yourself. Your job is to be on top of the flow of the tournament, and if you're off to the side counting decklists, unaware that the last result of the round is coming in, you're going to be startled by your own tournament. So let your floor judges do the legwork so you can keep tabs on what's going on in the big picture. Your FJs are also a valuable source of input about that big picture, so ask them what's going on with that lengthy call, ask them to find out information you need for you.

And breaks. Make sure EVERYONE gets breaks. It's sometimes easy to forget that that includes you. Give yourself a break. I'm not kidding in stressing this (or maybe I'm just a control freak sometimes). I've messed this up so many times and have had others tell me ‘but hey, did YOU take a break yet?’. Don't be like me ;)