Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Tournament Operations » Post: Deferring RPTQ invite?

Deferring RPTQ invite?

June 25, 2017 02:03:59 AM

James Do Hung Lee
Judge (Level 3), Hall of Fame, Scorekeeper, Tournament Organizer

USA - Northwest

Deferring RPTQ invite?

Recently, a winner of one of my PPTQ asked about deferring his invitation to the upcoming RPTQ. The following quote from the current PEIP suggests that this is not allowed, but he seemed to feel that it was. So, I am checking in to see if anyone has insight into if this was once the case and no longer allowed, or if there is a corner of this policy of which I am not aware.

“Invitations described in this policy may not be transferred or passed down from one player to another, except as explicitly described in this policy. Invitations must be used for the tournaments to which they apply and may not be deferred to future events.”

June 25, 2017 12:10:40 PM

Théo CHENG
Judge (Uncertified)

France

Deferring RPTQ invite?

I have knowledge of some players who asked and was refused.

Still, that is something that only the WPN is empowered to decide. I think that in any case we should send the players to the contact premierplay@wizards.com for this kind of question

June 25, 2017 01:30:59 PM

Scott Marshall
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3), Regional Coordinator (USA - Northwest), Hall of Fame, L3 Panel Lead

USA - Northwest

Deferring RPTQ invite?

Confirmed that the ‘O’fficial answer is “contact Wizards”.

I'll go out on a limb, and predict that the default answer is “NO!” - so be sure to ask, don't assume.

d:^D