Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Competitive REL » Post: Cavern of souls plus counterspells

Cavern of souls plus counterspells

Sept. 28, 2017 12:47:58 PM

Mathias Duch
Judge (Level 1), Tournament Organizer

Europe - North

Cavern of souls plus counterspells

So, i was sitting at a GP, playing vs a merfolk player.
He had a cavern on merfolk, and i have an cryptic command in hand.
The entire game he has announced “blue for merfolk” “Uncounterable” ect.
One time he taps his island and cavern with out saying anything, and looks at me. Due to being low ranked i ask him if he would like to make a colored mana with it, as i diden't feel like a judge call.
How would you handle this call? if i were to attempt to counter it.
i honestly have no clue.

Edited Mathias Duch (Sept. 28, 2017 12:50:30 PM)

Sept. 28, 2017 12:56:15 PM

Scott Marshall
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3), Regional Coordinator (USA - Northwest), Hall of Fame

USA - Northwest

Cavern of souls plus counterspells

We've long held that, if the Cavern of Souls could have been used to make the appropriate spell uncounterable, then it did so, by default; essentially, a player would have to specifically state “I'm not getting colored mana to make this uncounterable” for us to rule against that - and that just doesn't happen.

d:^D

Sept. 28, 2017 12:57:11 PM

Scott Marshall
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3), Regional Coordinator (USA - Northwest), Hall of Fame

USA - Northwest

Cavern of souls plus counterspells

I should note, you can always use a Counterspell - it's still a legal target - but the spell won't be countered.

d:^D

Sept. 28, 2017 01:21:32 PM

Mathias Duch
Judge (Level 1), Tournament Organizer

Europe - North

Cavern of souls plus counterspells

I understand it can still be targeted, i was just thinking weather he should activate it, or we default to him using the upmost abillity on the card :)

Sept. 28, 2017 01:26:20 PM

Dan Collins
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3)

USA - Northeast

Cavern of souls plus counterspells

Originally posted by Mathias Duch:

I understand it can still be targeted, i was just thinking weather he should activate it, or we default to him using the upmost abillity on the card :)

Which is why Scott wrote:

Originally posted by Scott Marshall:

if the Cavern of Souls could have been used to make the appropriate spell uncounterable, then it did so, by default