Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Knowledge Pool Scenarios » Post: Your Authority has been Revoked - BRONZE

Your Authority has been Revoked - BRONZE

Jan. 17, 2018 04:34:52 PM

Joe Klopchic
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3 (Judge Academy))

Seattle, Washington, United States of America

Your Authority has been Revoked - BRONZE

Welcome back to the Knowledge Pool, this week we have a Bronze scenario, so you can submit your answers to the link below.

Enjoy!

Adam is playing against Nadine at a Modern PPTQ. Adam says "I'll Thoughtseize you, then cast Phyrexian Revoker" and puts both cards on the table. Nadine has no responses, and Adam sees Nadine's hand of Relic of Progenitus, Inkmoth Nexus, and two Swamps. Adam says “I'll take the Relic, then name Inkmoth.” Three turns later, Nadine plays a Liliana of the Veil, activates Liliana's +1 ability, and both players discard a card. Adam discards another copy of Phyrexian Revoker, and then realizes that it can't name land cards, so he calls for a judge. What do you do?

Submit your answers here: https://goo.gl/forms/0LVT2aMxLWtn5ND73

Edited Joe Klopchic (Jan. 17, 2018 04:43:33 PM)

Jan. 24, 2018 10:33:30 PM

Joe Klopchic
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3 (Judge Academy))

Seattle, Washington, United States of America

Your Authority has been Revoked - BRONZE

Thanks for all the responses this week.

We're highlighting this answer from Franco Vaca

Originally posted by Franco Vaca:

Adam has committed a Game Play Error - Game Rule Violation. The IPG says we should correct this letting the player name a legal card. Adam receives a Warning and gets the chance to name Liliana of the Veil, or any other legal card to be named.
Also Nadine receives a Warning for GPE - Failure to Maintain Game State for not pointing out the error.
Explain both players that they're responsible for maintaining a legal game state.

This falls into the additional fix we are granted with Game Rule Violation, so we should also at least consider if a simple backup will make applying the fix smoother.

While it might appear to be more fair to apply the simple backup and go back to before Liliana was activated, the ability has fully resolved when this was realized, and information has been gained by both players, so we prefer to not apply the backup. As usual, choosing to back up here is a judgement call, so doing so isn't incorrect.

Also note that while it might not seem very fair that Adam gets to name a card currently in play, Nadine is also responsible for maintaining the game state. Had she realized that the choice was illegal earlier, Adam may not have known to name Liliana.

Edited Joe Klopchic (Jan. 24, 2018 10:33:48 PM)