Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Competitive REL » Post: Is Eternal Scourge's triggered ability detrimental?

Is Eternal Scourge's triggered ability detrimental?

Sept. 16, 2018 02:53:47 PM

Isaac King
Judge (Level 2)

Gainesville, Florida, United States of America

Is Eternal Scourge's triggered ability detrimental?

Is Eternal Scourge's triggered ability detrimental?

{Edit: added card tag}

Edited Scott Marshall (Sept. 16, 2018 07:40:35 PM)

Sept. 16, 2018 02:54:49 PM

Isaac King
Judge (Level 2)

Gainesville, Florida, United States of America

Is Eternal Scourge's triggered ability detrimental?

To clarify, I'm looking for an Official answer, and I'd also be curious as to the reasoning behind it.

Sept. 16, 2018 04:37:41 PM

Jeff S Higgins
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2), TLC

USA - Northwest

Is Eternal Scourge's triggered ability detrimental?

Locked pending official answer.

Edited Jeff S Higgins (Sept. 16, 2018 04:38:44 PM)

Sept. 29, 2018 12:36:56 AM

Scott Marshall
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3), Regional Coordinator (USA - Northwest), Hall of Fame, L3 Panel Lead

USA - Northwest

Is Eternal Scourge's triggered ability detrimental?

The Missed Triggers project identified this one as generally detrimental; the trigger denies you a resource, and makes you cast it all over again.

It can be argued (and it has been) that this also “fizzles” the opponent's spell or ability, thus making it hard to get rid of, and therefore it's a good trigger. In my view, that benefit softens the blow a bit, but it's still detrimental. Something as innocuous as Amoeboid Changeling makes the Scourge nearly useless. In my book, that's detrimental.

d:^D