Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: The static ability of Oath of Teferi

The static ability of Oath of Teferi

May 9, 2019 01:40:57 AM

Todd Bussey
Uncertified, Judge

Canada - Western Provinces

The static ability of Oath of Teferi

You may activate the loyalty abilities of planeswalkers you control twice each turn rather than only once.

If Player A who controls Oath of Teferi were to take control of a planeswalker controlled by Player B and Player B had already activated a loyalty ability of that planeswalker this turn…

Can Player A activate a loyalty ability of that permanent?

Oath says twice rather than only once, but normally Player A wouldn't be able to activate it even once if Player B had already activated a loyalty ability of it. Does the fact that it has already been activated by someone else affect whether or not Player A can activate it?

Is the correct interpretation to alter rule 606.3 for Player A to this?

- 606.3 A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent they control any time they have priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of their turn, but <strike>only if no player has previously activated a loyalty ability of that permanent that turn</strike> only if there's been no more than one prior activation of loyalty abilities of that permanent by you that turn and no more than two activations total.

Or is Player A out of luck?

Edited Todd Bussey (May 9, 2019 10:30:01 AM)

May 9, 2019 01:34:25 PM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Level 2 Judge (Judge Foundry), Judge

USA - Southwest

The static ability of Oath of Teferi

Hi,

Thanks for your question. Yes, A will be able to activate the ability. They have permission to activate it a second time, and even though B has activated an ability of it, the Oath will let A activate one of the loyalty abilities as well.

Thanks,
Nathan Logn