Would like to see if we can get an Official answer to this, as previously Eli answered this in 2019 on Twitter, and then deleted their account.
If I Splice onto a spell, and then copy the resulting spell - does the copy have Splice?
The answer post-Modern Horizons update in 2019 from Eli Shiffrin was:
---------
When you copy a spell, you copy the choices made when casting it including if you used splice or overload. (706.10)
So if you copy an Overloaded spell, the fact that you used Overload is copied and the spell is changed.
And if you copy a Spliced spell, the fact that you paid Splice costs are noted and you have the appended text.
------------------------
I believe this is still how this works, but the fact that 707.2 specifically says text-changing effects aren't copied makes this somewhat ambiguous
Note that the Gatherer Rules for Fell Beast's Shriek says yes - it is copied. I found this after posting, so I think it's safe to say that yes this still works as expected.
Edited Tom Wood (Dec. 11, 2025 10:08:55 PM)