Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Temporary stealing and exchanging control of two permanents controlled by the same player

Temporary stealing and exchanging control of two permanents controlled by the same player

July 5, 2016 10:50:09 AM

Florian Horn
Judge (Level 3), Grand Prix Head Judge, Scorekeeper

France

Temporary stealing and exchanging control of two permanents controlled by the same player

Ajani casts Threaten on Nissa's Grizzly Bears, then activates his Avarice Totem, targeting Grizzly Bears. What happens at end of turn?

My understanding is that the last sentence of rule 701.8b (If, on the other hand, those permanents are controlled by the same player, the exchange effect does nothing) means that Avarice Totem did not create a control-changing effect, so Nissa gets her Grizzly Bear back. It could also describe the fact that the exchange effect has no immediate impact on the game state. Which is it?

July 8, 2016 06:52:57 AM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

USA - Northwest

Temporary stealing and exchanging control of two permanents controlled by the same player

In order for the exchange of permanents to happen, the two permanents have to be controlled by different players. If the same player controls both permanents that would be exchanged, nothing happens and no change of control effect happens. In this example, the Totem's ability will resolve, but won't do anything since the same player controls the Totem and the Bears. When the effect of the Treason wears off at the end of the turn, the opponent will get their Bears back.

Nathan Long
Magic Rules NetRep
  • Index
  • » Rules Q&A
  • » Temporary stealing and exchanging control of two permanents controlled by the same player