Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Exquisite Archangel and Sudden Death

Exquisite Archangel and Sudden Death

Jan. 21, 2017 06:26:56 PM

Florian Horn
Judge (Level 3 (Judge Academy)), Grand Prix Head Judge, Scorekeeper

France

Exquisite Archangel and Sudden Death

In the single elimination portion of a tournament, what happens if a player would lose to the “sudden death” rule while controlling Exquisite Archangel?

My understanding is that they would still lose the game, because the sudden death rule is akin to a Game Loss in that it bypasses all the rules from the CR (in the same way that a Platinum Angel cannot protect you from sudden death), but I'd like confirmation.

Feb. 2, 2017 03:45:45 PM

Callum Milne
Forum Moderator
Judge (Uncertified)

Canada

Exquisite Archangel and Sudden Death

Your understanding is correct. As with its predecessors, Exquisite Archangel cannot prevent a player from losing to sudden death rules in a timed single-elimination match.