It doesn't end at the start of the cleanup step, because it's not a continuous effect.
As you say, it is a delayed triggered ability - it will trigger when its triggering event happens. “This turn” here doesn't have the special meaning it has for continuous effects; it simply adds a check that is done to know if the triggering event happens or not.
A situation where it's relevant: after 
Duskmantle Guildmage's ability resolves,
 Giant Growth is cast on an 
Eager Cadet controlled by the opponent, then
 Night of Souls' Betrayal is cast. At end of turn, 
Giant Growth's effect will end, then 
Eager Cadet dies, which triggers 
Duskmantle Guildmage's delayed triggered ability.
Daniel Kitachewsky
L3, Paris, France
Rules Netrep