Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Chandra, Torch of Defiance and empty library

Chandra, Torch of Defiance and empty library

April 9, 2017 04:02:18 AM

Milan Majerčík
Judge (Level 2 (Judge Academy)), Scorekeeper

Europe - Central

Chandra, Torch of Defiance and empty library

Hi,

What should happen in the following case?

Andy has no cards left in his library (milled into exile by Nancy's Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger). Andy activates the first ability of his Chandra, Torch of Defiance. What will happen when the ability resolves?

In other words, is the “if you don't” part of the ability true also when there is actually no card exiled? (“if you don't cast that <null> card” -> Null pointer exception :-D)

Thanks!

Milan Majerčík

April 18, 2017 01:49:01 PM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2 (Judge Academy))

USA - Northwest

Chandra, Torch of Defiance and empty library

Hi,

Chandra's ability checks to see if you cast the card. If nothing was exiled to Chandra's ability (because your library was empty), then you did not cast anything, so Chandra's ability will deal 2 damage to each opponent.

Nathan Long
Magic Rules NetRep