Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Grafdigger's Cage + Dryad Arbor fetched

Grafdigger's Cage + Dryad Arbor fetched

June 16, 2017 11:18:08 AM

Mikaƫl Rabie
Level 5 Judge (International Judge Program), Regional Representative (France), Judge, Scorekeeper

France

Grafdigger's Cage + Dryad Arbor fetched

I control a Grafdigger's Cage. My opponent sacrifices Windswept Heath to fetch a Dryad Arbor (forgetting the Cage). Is the Dryad a legal choice that will not come into play, or have they the ability to find another land after showing their Dryad?

June 19, 2017 03:07:57 PM

Scott Marshall
Forum Moderator
Level 4 Judge (Judge Foundry), Hall of Fame, Judge

USA - Southwest

Grafdigger's Cage + Dryad Arbor fetched

The Dryad Arbor is a Forest, so it's a legal choice for Windswept Heath. However, when the creature attempts to enter the battlefield, it does so from the library, and Grafdigger's Cage says “NO.” The Arbor remains in the library, and then the instruction to shuffle the library is completed.

At Regular REL, I'd certainly educate and then allow you to choose a different Forest. At Comp/Pro REL, "you chose … poorly".

d:^D