Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: About the new changes CR 614.12 & 614.16 : Kalitas & Cie and enter the arena !

About the new changes CR 614.12 & 614.16 : Kalitas & Cie and enter the arena !

Sept. 30, 2017 01:13:24 AM

Jean-François DURMONT
Judge (Level 2)

France

About the new changes CR 614.12 & 614.16 : Kalitas & Cie and enter the arena !

Hi all,

To follow up this topic : https://apps.magicjudges.org/forum/topic/35806/

Just to be sure about the new rule (CR 614.16). Now, if a Fling is cast during the resolution of a spell (Yahenni's Expertise in the premilinary question), the additionnal cost is taken into account by the interraction Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet + Annointed Procession, resulting into two tokens. Right ?

About the other change on the interraction between replacements effects and continuous effect. Before that, a Breeding Pool comes into the battlefield tapped with Blood Moon. Now, it is not the case anymore. So, that means that a random non creature artefact comes into the battlefield tapped now if you control a March of the Machines and the opponent a Thalia, Heretic Cathar, right ?

Thanks a lot !

Jean-François

Edited Jean-François DURMONT (Sept. 30, 2017 01:14:25 AM)

Oct. 4, 2017 08:37:20 AM

Callum Milne
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

Canada

About the new changes CR 614.12 & 614.16 : Kalitas & Cie and enter the arena !

Originally posted by Jean-François DURMONT:

Just to be sure about the new rule (CR 614.16). Now, if a Fling is cast during the resolution of a spell (Yahenni's Expertise in the premilinary question), the additionnal cost is taken into account by the interraction Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet + Annointed Procession, resulting into two tokens. Right ?
Correct. It no longer matters why the opposing creature is dying–if Kalitas replaces the creature dying with exiling it and making a zombie, the Procession will apply and double that token, no matter what was causing the creature to die.

Originally posted by Jean-François DURMONT:

About the other change on the interraction between replacements effects and continuous effect. Before that, a Breeding Pool comes into the battlefield tapped with Blood Moon. Now, it is not the case anymore. So, that means that a random non creature artefact comes into the battlefield tapped now if you control a March of the Machines and the opponent a Thalia, Heretic Cathar, right ?
That is correct. When determining which replacement effects apply to the artifact entering the battlefield, you take March of the Machines's effect into account, so Thalia, Heretic Cathar sees that it's going to be entering the battlefield as a creature and makes it enter tapped.
  • Index
  • » Rules Q&A
  • » About the new changes CR 614.12 & 614.16 : Kalitas & Cie and enter the arena !