Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Bishop of Binding & Vehicle

Bishop of Binding & Vehicle

Jan. 13, 2018 08:58:19 PM

Nikita Tarima
Judge (Level 2)

Russia and Russian-speaking countries

Bishop of Binding & Vehicle

Hi all. I see some contradiction in this two rullings.
1/19/2018 If there is no exiled card as Bishop of Binding’s last ability resolves, most likely because Bishop of Binding left the battlefield while that ability was on the stack, X is 0. The same is true if the exiled card doesn’t have a power, most likely because it’s a noncreature card that had become a creature.
1/19/2018 If a Vehicle is exiled with Bishop of Binding, use its printed power to determine the value of X.

&
CR: 301.7a Each Vehicle has a printed power and toughness, but it has these characteristics only if it’s also a creature.

Can somebody explain this?

Jan. 14, 2018 03:19:46 AM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

USA - Northwest

Bishop of Binding & Vehicle

Hi,

This is due to an incoming rules change with Rivals of Ixalan. From the Rivals of Ixalan Update Bulletin, written by Magic Rules Manager Eli Shiffrin: (https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/news/rivals-ixalan-update-bulletin-2018-01-11):

208.3

Until we printed Bishop of Binding, it never really mattered whether Vehicles had a power when they weren't on the battlefield. A literal reading of this rule would have also led you to conclude that creature cards not on the battlefield didn't have a power, either. I've modified this rule to let anything printed with a power and toughness have those values while not on the battlefield.

While we don't have the actual updated version of the Comprehensive Rules yet, this is a change that's being made.

Nathan Long
Magic Rules NetRep