Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: 'Becomes the target' triggering multiple times

'Becomes the target' triggering multiple times

July 6, 2018 12:58:14 AM

Eoram Moon
Judge (Level 1)

Greater China

'Becomes the target' triggering multiple times

Hello

I was wondering how ‘becomes the target’ trigger works with a spell that has multiple instances of ‘target’.

Say while I control Leovold, Emissary of Trest, my opponent casts Collective Brutality, choosing its first and third mode. She targeted me for both modes. How many times does Leovold's second ability triggers?

Thanks in advance.
Eoram Moon

July 10, 2018 01:00:03 PM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

USA - Northwest

'Becomes the target' triggering multiple times

Hi,

Thanks for your question. Leovold only triggers once in this case. While the Brutality is targeting you twice, you're only becoming the target of the Brutality once, so Leovold triggers once, not once for each time you're targeted by the spell. It's covered by this rule:

603.2d Some trigger events use the word “becomes” (for example, “becomes attached” or “becomes blocked”). These trigger only at the time the named event happens—they don’t trigger if that state already exists or retrigger if it persists. An ability that triggers when a permanent “becomes tapped” or “becomes untapped” doesn’t trigger if the permanent enters the battlefield in that state.

Thanks,
Nathan Long
Magic Rules NetRep