Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Xantcha's controleur leaving the game

Xantcha's controleur leaving the game

July 31, 2018 06:55:03 AM

Emilien Wild
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3), Grand Prix Head Judge

BeNeLux

Xantcha's controleur leaving the game

Hey!

The release notes for Commander 2018 state:
In a multiplayer game, if a player leaves the game, all cards that player owns leave as well. If the player under whose control Xantcha entered the battlefield leaves the game, the effect changing control of Xantcha ends.
The last sentence doesn't mention what happens after that effect changing ends. My understanding is that based on rule 800.4a, it is exiled, as there is no previous controllers who would regain control of Xantcha:
800.4a When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game and any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end. Then, if that player controlled any objects on the stack not represented by cards, those objects cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he or she left, priority passes to the next player in turn order who’s still in the game.
However, the ambiguity of the release notes made me second guess myself, and wondered if the default mentioned in rule 110.2 should apply, and that the permanent's owner would now be the permanent's controller:
110.2 A permanent’s owner is the same as the owner of the card that represents it (unless it’s a token; see rule 110.5a). A permanent’s controller is, by default, the player under whose control it entered the battlefield. Every permanent has a controller.

Clarification would be welcome, thank you for your tireless hard work.

- Emilien

Aug. 14, 2018 12:19:07 PM

Callum Milne
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

Canada

Xantcha's controleur leaving the game

If Xantcha, Sleeper Agent is entering the battlefield, the player who's putting it onto the battlefield must choose to give control of it to one of their opponents using its control-changing effect. When that opponent leaves the game, the control-change effect giving them control of Xantcha ends.

When that happens, Xantcha returns to the control of its previous controller: the player who was making the choice of who to give it away to. That's usually going to be Xantcha's owner.