Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: What is Flameblade Adept's Power?

What is Flameblade Adept's Power?

Aug. 29, 2018 02:49:15 PM

Cody Gavigan
Judge (Level 1)

USA - Northeast

What is Flameblade Adept's Power?

Active Player has a Flameblade Adept on the battlefield, Non-Active Player has Rest in Peace in play. Active Player casts Goblin Lore, and resolves the spell. At this time, both players call for a judge to ask "What is Flameblade Adept's power?"

My answer was 1, as Discarding is defined as moving a card from the owner's hand to that player's graveyard and the replacement effect of Rest in Peace no longer meant those cards were going into the graveyard.

Sept. 6, 2018 02:01:30 AM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

USA - Northwest

What is Flameblade Adept's Power?

Hi,

Thanks for your question. Discarding a card doesn't care if some other replacement effect changes where the card ended up (hence why a card with madness being discarded will still trigger things that trigger when you discard a card, even though the card with madness ends up in exile). Even with a Rest in Peace in play, the cards discarded by the Lore are discarded (they just end up in exile instead of the graveyard), so the Adept's ability will trigger three times, since three cards were discarded.

Thanks,
Nathan Long
Magic Rules NetRep