Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Copying spells and choosing new targets with Narset’s Reversal

Copying spells and choosing new targets with Narset’s Reversal

May 8, 2019 02:37:07 AM

Arman Gabbasov
Judge (Level 2)

Russia and Russian-speaking countries

Copying spells and choosing new targets with Narset’s Reversal

706.10 says that to copy a spell means to put a copy of it onto the stack.
760.10c clarifies how copying effects allowing to change targets work. Specifically “Once the player has decided what the copy’s targets will be, the copy is put onto the stack with those targets“.

Narset’s reversal Instructions start with copying the spell and only then returns it to its owner’s hand.

“Copy target instant or sorcery spell, then return it to its owner’s hand. You may choose new targets for the copy.Copy target instant or sorcery spell, then return it to its owner’s hand. You may choose new targets for the copy.”

In case the target spell is Negate a player should be able to choose the original Negate as the new target for the copy-Negate. According to 706.10c it is still on the stack as the copy is created.

My question is whether it is the correct interpretation of the rules. I was under a different impression and Arena and MYGO seems to think otherwise too.

May 9, 2019 01:49:27 PM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

USA - Northwest

Copying spells and choosing new targets with Narset’s Reversal

Hi,

Thanks for your question. With 706.10c, we don't put the copy on the stack until after we've chosen those new targets. But thanks to 608.2c, we know that an instruction later on can modify what happens earlier in the spell. So we put the copy on the stack first, choosing the new targets at that time thanks to that later instruction, then we return the original spell to its owner's hand. If you feel the urge to target the original spell with the copy before the original is returned to the hand, you can do that.

608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written. However, replacement effects may modify these actions. In some cases, later text on the card may modify the meaning of earlier text (for example, “Destroy target creature. It can’t be regenerated” or “Counter target spell. If that spell is countered this way, put it on top of its owner’s library instead of into its owner’s graveyard.”) Don’t just apply effects step by step without thinking in these cases—read the whole text and apply the rules of English to the text.

Thanks,
Nathan Long
Magic Rules NetRep

Edited Nathan Long (May 9, 2019 01:49:41 PM)

  • Index
  • » Rules Q&A
  • » Copying spells and choosing new targets with Narset’s Reversal