Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: The static ability of Oath of Teferi

The static ability of Oath of Teferi

May 9, 2019 04:40:57 PM

Todd Bussey
Judge (Level 2)

Canada

The static ability of Oath of Teferi

You may activate the loyalty abilities of planeswalkers you control twice each turn rather than only once.

If Player A who controls Oath of Teferi were to take control of a planeswalker controlled by Player B and Player B had already activated a loyalty ability of that planeswalker this turn…

Can Player A activate a loyalty ability of that permanent?

Oath says twice rather than only once, but normally Player A wouldn't be able to activate it even once if Player B had already activated a loyalty ability of it. Does the fact that it has already been activated by someone else affect whether or not Player A can activate it?

Is the correct interpretation to alter rule 606.3 for Player A to this?

- 606.3 A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent they control any time they have priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of their turn, but only if no player has previously activated a loyalty ability of that permanent that turn only if there's been no more than one prior activation of loyalty abilities of that permanent by you that turn and no more than two activations total.

Or is Player A out of luck?

Edited Todd Bussey (May 10, 2019 01:30:01 AM)

May 10, 2019 04:34:25 AM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

USA - Northwest

The static ability of Oath of Teferi

Hi,

Thanks for your question. Yes, A will be able to activate the ability. They have permission to activate it a second time, and even though B has activated an ability of it, the Oath will let A activate one of the loyalty abilities as well.

Thanks,
Nathan Logn