Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Gideon Blackblade and Champion of the Parish

Gideon Blackblade and Champion of the Parish

June 7, 2019 01:33:20 PM

Jordon Berkley
Judge (Level 1)

USA - South

Gideon Blackblade and Champion of the Parish

Active player controls Champion of the Parish, and plays Gideon Blackblade. Because it's the active player's turn, does Gideon get a +1/+1 counter from Champion of the Parish due to state based actions?

June 7, 2019 06:41:10 PM

Nathan Long
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 2)

USA - Northwest

Gideon Blackblade and Champion of the Parish

Hi,

Thanks for your question. Since it is the active player's turn, Gideon will enter the battlefield as a Human Soldier creature. He will trigger anything that would trigger due to a creature entering, like Champion of the Parish's ability, since Gideon is a Human. This doesn't have anything to do with state-based actions - Gideon has a static ability that applies as soon as it enters the battlefield. There's never a point (assuming it's their turn) that Gideon is on the battlefield and not a creature, so at the time we're checking for triggers, the game sees Gideon is a Human creature, and the Champion's ability will trigger.

Thanks,
Nathan Long
Magic Rules NetRep