Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: Goblin Engineer and Ashiok

Goblin Engineer and Ashiok

Sept. 19, 2019 09:54:24 AM

Florian Horn
Judge (Level 3 (International Judge Program)), Grand Prix Head Judge, Scorekeeper


Goblin Engineer and Ashiok

Nebraska controls Ashiok, Dream Render and Alaska casts Goblin Engineer.

Can Alaska choose to shuffle their library, or is the whole process forbidden since they cannot search their library?

Sept. 19, 2019 11:46:22 AM

Scott Marshall
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 4 (Judge Foundry)), Hall of Fame

USA - Northwest

Goblin Engineer and Ashiok

My apologies; I missed a more relevant Gatherer ruling:
If an effect says “You may search your library . . . If you do, shuffle your library” or “You may search your library . . . then shuffle your library,” your opponents can’t choose to search, so they won’t shuffle.

So, No, Alaska may not choose to search, so Alaska can't shuffle when Goblin Engineer's ability resolves.