Please keep the forum protocol in mind when posting.

Rules Q&A » Post: "Discarding to Hand Size + Multi-Turn Loops" post-RNA Update

"Discarding to Hand Size + Multi-Turn Loops" post-RNA Update

May 5, 2019 06:52:19 PM

Charles Milutinovic
Judge (Level 1)

USA - Central

"Discarding to Hand Size + Multi-Turn Loops" post-RNA Update

This is a followup to a previous question with an answer.

The original question is as follows:

Is a player who is doing nothing on their turn other than drawing and discarding, with the discard happening to be a Nexus of Fate (/Progenitus /Darksteel Colossus /Emrakul with no other cards in graveyard) against a player with actions other than game mandated ones, Such as Teferi Hero of Dominaria (/ Academy Ruins) also “involved in maintaining a loop across turns?”

The ruling prior (link) was that the Teferi player would be forced to eventually lose this game. Has this ruling changed post-RNA loop update?


(Edit post-answer: link to the RNA policy update here.)

Edited Charles Milutinovic (May 5, 2019 09:15:21 PM)

May 5, 2019 11:27:07 PM

Scott Marshall
Forum Moderator
Judge (Level 3), Regional Coordinator (USA - Northwest), Hall of Fame

USA - Northwest

"Discarding to Hand Size + Multi-Turn Loops" post-RNA Update

Woof. Previous, incorrect answer deleted, to avoid confusion for those looking at the forum.

My apologies, all - the RNA rules update *did* happen after the linked post, and *did* change things.

This example is now a draw.

d:^D
  • Index
  • » Rules Q&A
  • » "Discarding to Hand Size + Multi-Turn Loops" post-RNA Update